

Wisconsin State Organization Mary Jo Nettesheim Literary Competition Chairs

The Mary Jo Nettesheim Literary Competition began in 1984 by Mary Jo Nettesheim. She was an enthusiastic sixth grade teacher from the Alpha Delta Chapter in Waukesha, WI who was given the task of raising the awareness of the Delta Kappa Gamma Organization. Thus, she created the literary competition where students could enter fiction books. At first, the contest included grades 3, 5, and 7. Sixty one books were sent to the state-level competition from 21 different chapters. Because of this success, grades 4 and 6 were added during the second year. Mary Jo passed away from cancer in 1987.

The contest tradition continued and by 2008, eighth grade was added, as well as the illustrator award and other special illustration categories. In 2015, the Enhanced Personal Narrative became a second literary category for which students could enter. In 2016, a category for high school, or grades 9-12, was added. The contest continued to expand in 2018 when bilingual Spanish became a category.

State Literary Chairs

2023-2024	Zeta Chapter Nancy Herrmann Barb Cody	Zeta/Green Bay
2021-2023	Zeta Chapter Donell Bonetti Brenda Rank	Zeta/Green Bay
2007-2021	Pat Brabazon Judy Snyder	Alpha Iota/Edgerton Alpha Iota/Janesville
2003-2007	Catherine Mach	Beta/Kenosha
1995-2003	Mary Speerstra	Alpha Kappa/Whitehall
1991-1995	Patricia Ertman	Alpha Beta/West Bend
1987-1991	Pat Pace	Alpha Nu/Waukesha
1984-1987	Mary Jo Nettesheim	Alpha Delta/Waukesha